Winter coyote hunting

Dirigoboy

Reaction score
I live outside the Sanford area, and there are few large fields around. I'm new at it, having started last year. I bought some snow camo and a coyote caller. I'm using my Diamondback 5.56 as my "go to" rifle. I got in to it as I've had dogs popping out in to my field in the Summer, and when I'm in bed at night, I can hear them across the river. As to Winter, I haven't seen them, but I've come across a host of tracks down along the river bank. From what I'm reading, best times are in that Feb/March time frame when they're breeding.

Though last year didn't produce anything for me, I like the idea of the challenge. Coyote's are smart, and let's face it, here in Maine, and opposed to say, those states outside of the Northeast seaboard where the land becomes far more open, it is challenging to set up in a wooded area with any hope of success.
I'd like to learn how, others like myself who are relegated to hunting in the woods, set up, and have become successful taking them down. I'm beginning to think that, in able to start seeing them, I may need to start putting out a gut pile. I'm not convinced that a coyote call is going to be enough.

I'd be interested in hearing from successful wood hunters just how you're able to call them in.
Thanks in advance.

mowbizz

Reaction score
If I were going out at night I would take a piece of freezer burned venison (or similar) and nail it to a tree just out of coyote standing reach. They would have to jump at it. The rest is about hiding and staying warm...They find gut piles almost immediately.

Mikejd

Reaction score
I am going up to my camp in 2 weeks to give it a shot. Its not easy at all. I have been trying for about 5 years now. I cant say I take it to serious.
We usually go up with about 8 of us we snow shoe back to camp for the weekend. But this year I put my entire gut pile and all the bones and hide in 2 construction bags