Sledder Kills Moose

longbow

Administrator
Reaction score
I don't know if this was posted before. I know nothing about snow mobiles. Is there no reverse on them? Maybe back away and give the moose some time to move off or go around?

tobydog

Reaction score
wow...im no expert but some of them do not have reverse i believe. not convinced he would of used it if he did have it ...i have so audio on this laptop though...does he say anything?

TheLostBeaver

Reaction score
I’ve seen it before and don’t understand why he would keep getting closer in the first place. My snowmobile doesn’t have reverse, but I wouldn’t have gotten so close to begin with. It’s pretty common to see them in the trails and they don’t want to get off, they usually walk or run down the trail for a while before they turn off, you just have to give them space.

outdoorsman

Reaction score
Moose will walk snowmobile trails during periods of extremely deep snow. They begin running when snowmobiles approach and will run long distances before bailing off the trail. With that said, this moose was done with running after having been followed a long ways and stood its ground.

The incident was preventable had the snowmobiles given the animal some space.

jht2224

Reaction score
Maybe he could have waited the animal out, and perhaps that would have been the smarter thing to do. That being said in the spur of the moment he probably assumed the moose would’ve moved off. It didn’t....it charged him and trying not to be Monday morning qb the video is pretty convincing that he was in danger. I’m not agreeing with how things happened but in the same situation it’s sort of you or the moose? I’m sure everyone will say they would have handled it differently and maybe I would have as well. But if an animal charges me and I’m armed it’s the animal every time.

tobydog

Reaction score