Sams' late season log

sams

Reaction score
I know its a little late to start a log, but, I'll be putting in a bit of time between now and when muzzle loader ends on 12/31 and thought it would be fun to document.

I am hoping that this will be the year I get my first deer. I have actually been seeing some deer on a relatively regular basis this year so that to me is some measure of success. It has been a couple of years since I have even seen a deer during hunting season.

As I am pretty new to this I am happy to have people post pointers or any other advice based on what I post.

12/17
I was pretty tied making a pirate ship cake (complete with canons that fired) for my oldest daughter's 4th birthday party today, but managed to get out for about 1.5 hours at sunset. I walked in through a hill side covered in blow down from a couple of years ago (very noisy) to get into a spot that overlooked a field and some well used trails.

As I stopped to figure out where I would set up I had a skipper pup up about 20 yards from me. Right after a doe that I had walked within 10 yards of popped up as well. I got the gun up on the doe , but, didn't have a great shot and it was back towards where there are a number of stands. Decided not to take the shot.

That is certainly a lesson learned about really looking harder even in an area where I don't expect to see deer.

12/20
I did a quick hunt this morning before an 8:30 meeting. I worked my way down to creep up wind through some thicker swampy areas. Just as I entered the woods I heard something that sounded like a deer move off at close range. It was before shooting light and I never saw anythign.