New to hunting...Advice?

Zbradford207

Reaction score
Hey everyone, thanks for taking a moment to read this. As the title says, I’m brand new to hunting. Getting into it late in the game for sure. I’m 30 years old and have no experience minus some bird hunting back when I was younger. So I know there’s some steps I need to take as far as hunters safety courses and all that jazz. I’m posting in hopes of getting some advice or ideas on if you were to go back and start hunting with the knowledge you have now, what would you do/buy/have/tell yourself back then? I’m very into it already and have been researching for about 6 months but I figure it can’t hurt to ask the guys that know right?! There seems to be less people getting into hunting and I’m hoping that maybe my experiences can help bridge the gap between people that have thought about trying it but never gotten fully prepared for it! Anything you have to offer, even if it’s just a hello, is greatly appreciated!! Thanks again in advance and I hope you all are having a good start to your new year!!

Regards,
Zach Bradford

groundtender

Reaction score
Zach - Good on you! Just do it....you are by no means too old to start up again. I am sure you will get some great advice from other members. When I was a lot younger I thought I had to have a hunting camp. You may hear and read many truly wonderful camp stories. For me the camp that I built up in Stratton turned into too much of a pain in butt. I didn’t like feeling like I had to go there just because I had it. So in spite of the many good times I had there with family and friends, I sold it 25 years ago and have really enjoyed hunting in many great areas in northern Maine. Have fun, you’ll always have something to look forward to, and have good memories of past hunts. Good luck

Last edited:

mbVT

Administrator
Reaction score
Welcome Zach!
I wouldn't watch hunting TV- none of that stuff applies and sets false expectations.