DLuke's Hunting Journal

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
After seeing Arlows log starting up, I think I'll do one too. I've never done one before, but the thought of it goes through my mind each year. So this year, I'm going to do it here. Hope it doesn't bore anybody to death, but since I'm on here quite a bit, it makes sense for me to do it here.

Last edited:

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
10/18/10

Opening day of bow hunting. Skipped the morning and hunted a strip of woods between a road and a powerline. South of me in the strip is brush you can't even walk through that floods during rain. North of me is a strip of oaks. East is the powerline running N/S, West of me is a house with a back yard that runs deep towards the powerline, creating a nice funnel only about 100 yards across. Saw gray squirrels, red squirrels, chipmunks, chickadees, tufted titmice, and several flocks of geese. No deer......

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
10/19/10

Second nite of bowhunting. Hunted the same powerline, but down the far south end of the section and in on the other side. This is a smallish block of woods with one giant white oak in the middle of it that continues to drop acorns about every two minutes or so. Set up to the north of the tree with a southwest wind blowing, watching south. I could see poop from up in the tree. Tons of squirrels to entertain, but no deer.....

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
10/25/10