Cleaning kits

sneaky_pete000

Reaction score
I can't take it anymore. I've spent so much time and energy trying to buy better cleaning kits, unsuccessfully. Then I take part A from one of the kits, then part B from another, trying to build my own - also failing.

Anyone have a good cleaning kit to recommend?

I don't want a separate one for my .22
I want it to have shotgun gauge brushes with it too.
For a while I liked pulling the cable through so all the junk came out the muzzle, but I have no issue using steel rods either.
Do any still come with that curved fiber optic flashlight to shine down the bore?

What am I doing wrong - it shouldn't be this hard to get the guns clean.

lester2

Reaction score
Oh boy, talk about opening a can of worms, lol! Besides my personal arsenal I spent 30 years in the Army shooting and cleaning weapons so I’ve got some experience. I have two kits of brushes and tips. One is brass brushes and is pistol, rifle and shotgun with all the associated tips and adapters. The other is nylon rifle brushes, mainly for copper fouling. I use one piece coated rods for long guns and handguns, the long gun rod has a bore guide. Hoppe’s #9 solvent, and some light oil, a copper solvent and a few bags of various sized patches rounds things out. Not exactly a “kit” but all together it works for everything I’ve got.

Kingman Cruncher

Reaction score
Obviously not cost effective if you have a safe full of guns, but I only have 4 calibers of rifles and have just bought bore snakes over time. They are just so easy and quick to use I can’t imagine going back to kits and attachments.

mowbizz

Reaction score
I have a little "suitcase" kit with everything you could need to clean any firearm. Strangely enough, I can't find a manufacturer's name on it anywhere. If I recall, there was a cardboard sleeve around it when purchased (which I threw away. Can't recall where I bought it either...