Blaze orange

lester2

Reaction score
First, some back ground. I’m 58, been deer hunting since I was 14. It took me a lot of years to warm up to blaze orange but now, in every state I hunt firearms seasons in, whether it’s required or not, I wear an orange hat and vest, period. It is beyond me why it’s not law in every state. It’s just so much more visible to humans, and not to deer that to me there’s no excuse. This season I had deer several times within 20 yards of me with the wind right and standing still and they had no idea I was there. It pains me to no end seeing picture after picture on social media of successful hunters, many of them youths, posing with their deer with not a stitch of orange, or red for that matter, in sight. Knowing that most accidents happen between friends and relatives (I’m a trained hunter safety instructor) I just cannot imagine the anguish one would go thru should they wound or kill someone accidentally. So I guess what I’m saying is that my opinion is that for all big game season, less turkey, VT should require blaze orange. The Maine and Massachusetts requirements of a hat and vest seem reasonable to me. There, I’ve said it...

Lester

JDK

Reaction score
Here in Maine you do not have to wear orange if it goes against your religious beliefs. You do have to wear red however

lester2

Reaction score
Ok, I’ve got to chuckle at that one. A religion that says you can’t wear orange, but red is OK? Really, now I’ve heard it all...

JDK

Reaction score
David McCrea from Fort Fairfield wrote the legislation and it was signed by Governor LePage in 2017. It was supposed to address the concerns of the Amish community.

JDK

Reaction score
So, religiously speaking, I'm comfy in my red plaid coat.

JDK

Reaction score
A new law designed to appease an Amish community in northern Maine has created a loophole. Amish leaders in Fort Fairfield informed state Rep. David McCrea that they would no longer wear blaze orange while hunting.