7600 Reborn

.270 Pump

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at refinishing a rifle. I always liked the 7600's this one started out as a $250 pawn shop find. The blueing was worn, the wood finish worn, nicked etc. It also had a Bushnell scope with a dent in it. I was wanting a hunting rifle not a museum piece and tried to refinish it with that in mind. Stripped it down refinished the wood with Tru Oil, Dura Coated the steel and put a new Leupold scope on it.
.image.jpegimage.jpeg

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
Awesome....well done! How do you strip it and how many coats of Tru oil did you use?

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score
Also....did you do the Duracoat??

.270 Pump

Reaction score
I stripped the wood using a liquid paint/varnish stripper, then sanded smooth with fine sandpaper. I also applied the Duracoat going by the directions they included. I had a small air compressor and I picked up a small hobby style paint gun for $10 at Harbor Freight. Google Duracoat and you find plenty of application instructions.
As for time spent on it hard to say as I just worked on when my schedule allowed. I probably had 20 hours on it. But I was learning as I go. Prior experience would shave off considerable time. One nice thing with type of project is you can set the pace.

Fixed blade

Reaction score
Really nice job. The true oil really looks nice and classy without being flashy. Great job.

DLuke

World Record Non-Typical
Reaction score